Sunday, 8 January 2017

Sat 14 Jan - ENEMY AND MELODY: Tom Fawcett (Artrocker) on Music Journalism

Tom Fawcett in discursive mode on music papers, media and reportage during his lifetime and possibly beyond.

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Sat 7 Jan - BIRD NEWS #2 with Catherine Clover

Birds as messengers in science and meta-narrativesPlus a brief selected review of outdoor writing now and thenThe show features an impromptu composition created live on air.

Tuesday, 20 December 2016

Sat 17 Dec - LOOKING BACK: Writers Read their Own Work



The NEWS AGENTS CHRISTMAS SHOW

Experiments in news and arts with Jude Cowan Montague.

A selection of literature read by writers on the show during 2016. With contributions from Paul Burston, Emma Roper-Evans, Deborah Lawrenson, George Szirtes and Duncan Campbell.

Thursday, 15 December 2016

Sat 10 Dec - The Pre-history of Ealing Studios and the Topical Newsfilm: W G BARKER

John Leman Riley talks to Jude Cowan Montague about her work on W G Barker who set up the first film studios at Ealing. Will Barker was also one of the foremost pioneers of topical and news pictures in early cinema in Britain. 

Saturday, 26 November 2016

Sat 3 DEC - EXPLORING THE BLACK PATH: Paul Burston on domestic noir and the world of the army family

Award-winning writer Paul Burston talks about thriller writing and his latest novel, 'The Black Path', looking at the psychological secrets of the war hero and the inner world of an military spouse. Thoughts on official reportage, deployment, childhood trauma and separation discussed with the acclaimed writer also known for hosting the LGBT literary salon Polari at the Southbank Centre.

Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Sat 26 Nov - I AM A CAT: The Feline Consciousness of Natsume Sosecki

Kazumi Taguchi discusses Natsume Sosecki whose satirical novel 'I Am a Cat' in 1905 looks at the conflict between group mentality and individuality in ways relevant to social issues in Japan and London today. Kazumi performs the music of Okinawa. 

Sunday, 13 November 2016

Sat 19 Nov - Genealogy and the Media: A FAMILY STORY


Megan Cherie Owens, researcher and writer, TV genealogist, goes behind the scenes of the current love-affair with ancestry, DNA and identity to uncover skeletons in the media's closet and discusses why we research our personal past anyway.
Jude CM brings in research from her own family history and works by her poet-ancestor, John Cowan.